Certified Scrum Master (CSM)

Who can apply for CSM Certification?

Scrum Alliance has not mandated any particular eligibility requirements for CSM certification aspirants. Anyone and everyone, looking to become Scrum Masters can attend take up CSM certification training and attempt for the Certified Scrum Master certification test.

CSM Certification Courses and Training

Preparation training for CSM certification is majorly available and offered in two modes – Classroom training & Online training. CSM classroom courses are available in many countries including US, UK, India, Singapore, Australia and many more covering major cities such as Bangalore, New York, Los Angeles, Chennai, Hyderabad, Pune, Mumbai, San Francisco, Sydney, Melbourne, Singapore and others. Check out for CSM training near you.

What is the format for CSM Exam?

The Certified Scrum Master Certification test consists of 35 multiple-choice questions. For a prospect to successfully pass the certification, he needs to secure correctly at least 24 questions. The CSM test has a passing score of 24 out of 35 questions. Unsuccessful candidates can attempt within 90 days after receiving the welcome email to pass the test at no cost. After two attempts or 90 days, one will be charged $25 for each additional attempt.

CSM Exam Syllabus
  • Overview of Scrum
  • Overview of a Scrum Project
  • The Scrum team
  • Product backlog
  • The Product Owner
  • Releases
  • Sprints
  • The Scrum Master
  • Enterprise Transformation
Benefits of CAPM Certification

Below are some additional advantages that CAPM Certification offers to candidates.

  • Certified candidates get a 2 years of membership with Scrum Alliance
  • Increased job opportunities in the Scrum and Agile space
  • Prospect to contribute writings and articles to the Scrum Alliance website
  • CSM qualification is globally recognized and is accepted across industries
  • CSM qualification is globally recognized and is accepted across industries
  • You will gain ability to fill into the shoes of a Scrum Master or a Scrum Team member in the projects handled by your organization
More about Certified Scrum Master Certification in pointers
  • PDU credits for a CSM are offered accordance with PMI’s procedure.
  • Membership fees for Scrum Alliance covers cost of the CSM examination and first two years of the membership.
  • Successful CSM candidates can retake CSM certification. Re-certification validates a professional’s involvement in the evolution and continued expertise in the fundamental principles and practices of Scrum.
  • For candidates who have taken up CSM course on or after October 1, 2009 it is compulsory to successfully complete CSM certification exam to qualify as a Certified Scrum Master.
  • CSM certification exam consists of true/false and multiple choice type of questions to be completed in 60 minutes. This exam will test candidates on the following areas – Scrum meetings, artifacts and roles in addition to general scrum know-how.
  • Scrum Alliance mandates candidates to complete the CSM certification exam within 90 days after receiving the membership confirmation email.
  • Certified Scrum Master training/course is compulsory for candidates to take up CSM Certification exam.